From Te Anau – to Fox Glacier village

The journey from Te Anau to Fox Glacier village was 6 hours 18 mins and 503 kms according to my GPS. For one day! I didn’t want to stop (stay) anywhere on the way, as I have been to Queenstown and Wanaka, it would have been waste of time to spend another night somewhere. I left Te Anau at 10am. I have done a little part of the journey already (to Queenstown) with A, but to be honest, the scenery is more beautiful when the sun shines. I was struggling to keep my eyes on the road and stopped several times to take photos. Between Queenstown and Wanaka the road is zig-zeg, more than the road at Csesznek in Hungary. Fortunately I was the driver, otherwise I would have felt sick because of the many zig-zegs.

A Te Anau – Fox Glacier út a GPS szerint 6 óra 18 perc volt és 503 km. Mindezt egy napra. Az úton már igazából nem akartam megállni (megszállni), mert már voltam Queenstown-ban is, meg Wanaka-n is, és csak időpazarlás lett volna még egy napot elvesztegetni. Reggel 10-kor indultam el Te Anau-ból. Az út egy részét (Queenstown-ig) már megjártuk A-val, de hogy őszinte legyek egy ilyen napsütéses időben az egész táj másképp mutatott. A szemeimet nehéz volt az úton tartani, és elég sokszor megálltam fotókat készíteni. Queenstown és Wanaka között olyan szerpentin van, hogy a cseszneki út kutya füle ahhoz képest! Még jó, hogy én vezettem, mert tuti hányingert kaptam volna a sok kanyartól.

Wanaka was approximately half way, so I stopped longer there, had lunch and booked my accommodation at Fox Glacier village.

Wanaka volt kb félút, úgyhogy ott álltam meg egy hosszabb pihenőre, ebédelni és szállást foglalni Fox Glacier faluban.

The road was unknown for me after Wanaka, but there were lots to see too. It seemed an Indian couple was as much as curious as me :-), because they stopped at the same places as I did and we could go “together” to Fox Glacier village, where we said goodbye.

(He wanted a photo of us, said “2 crazy drivers”. (???) I don’t know what he was talking about… I am not crazy!)

Wanaka után ismeretlen volt az út, de egész sok látnivaló volt ott is. Úgy tűnt, egy indiai házaspár épp olyan kíváncsi volt mindenre, mint én :-), mert ők is mindig ott álltak meg, ahol én és így együtt tudtunk haladni egészen Fox Glacier faluig, ahol búcsút vettünk egymástól.

I arrived to my accommodation around 6.30pm. It had been a long day! After this long drive I thought it was time to have a walk around Lake Matheson. This lake is NZ most photographed lake, don’t wonder why: the reflections are fantastic! When I started my walk it was cloudy, thought I should turn back, when I remembered: “what you can do today don’t leave for tomorrow”. Which means it’s cloudy today but it can rain tomorrow… By the time I got to the other side of the lake, Mount Cook wasn’t hiding anymore and showed us itself. It was beautiful in the light of the setting sun… and it reflected back into the lake.

Este kb. 6.30-kor értem a szállásra. Hosszú nap volt ez! A sok órás vezetés után gondoltam itt az ideje egy kicsit sétálni is a Matheson tó körül. Ez a tó Új-Zéland legtöbbet fotózott tava. Nem véletlenül: a visszatükröződés valami fantasztikus látvány. Amikor elindultam, még felhős volt az ég. Azon gondolkodtam, hogy visszafordulok, de aztán eszembe jutott egy régi közmondás: „Amit ma megtehetsz, ne halaszd holnapra.” Vagyis ma csak felhős, holnap lehet szakadni fog az eső… Mire a tó másik oldalára értem, szerencsére Mount Cook kibújt a felhők közül, és megmutatta magát. Csodaszép látvány volt a lemenő nap fényében… és mindez visszatükröződött a tó vízében.

Published on Feb 28, ’12 10:16 AM on Multiply.

Leave a comment

Filed under beszámoló/journal, képes

Leave a comment